jump to navigation

Kale, Carrot, and Tofu Curried Fried Rice February 7, 2012

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in dairy free, dinner, vegetarian.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I love the Instagram app on my iPhone.  I check it all the time to see and share pictures with friends (my user name is apilchak).  9 times out of 10, the pictures I share are of Emitt, but sometimes I throw a food picture in there, too. This month, I’m doing a “photo a day” challenge where every day you have to post a picture of some pre-determined subject matter.  Last night’s subject was “dinner.”  Easy enough.  This is what I made, and posted, and a few people asked for the recipe, so I thought I’d put it up here!

This comes together really quickly if you have the rice pre-cooked.  I usually cook the rice in the morning while I’m getting ready for work. That way, it’s pre-cooked and cooled (which is what you want when making fried rice) when I get home from work.  Also, what makes this rice SUPER easy is using a bottled sauce, either curry or peanut.  If you have the time and inclination to make your own curry or peanut sauce, it’d probably be even better, but I’m lacking in the time department these days.  I usually use one of these:

curry and peanut sauces

The two curry sauces are from Trader Joe’s and the peanut sauce is my favorite bottled peanut sauce, the San-J brand.  So now that you know my dirty secret (bottled sauce instead of fresh!), here’s how I made the rice.

Kale, Carrot, and Tofu Curried Fried Rice
(Printable Recipe)

curried fried rice

Ingredients:

3 cups cooked and cooked brown rice
15 oz firm tofu
1 bunch kale, cleaned and chopped
3 medium carrots, shredded
A few shakes of soy sauce
2 t. golden mountain sauce (can use soy sauce if you don’t have golden mountain)
1/2 cup curry sauce (I’ve used the red and yellow curry sauces from TJs)
2 eggs
Sesame seeds, sriracha, etc to top

Method:

Dice the firm tofu into small cubes.  Saute the cubes in olive oil in a large pan (I use my largest skillet for this) until golden, about 10 minutes.  When the tofu is nice and crispy, add a few shakes of soy sauce to the pan to lightly coat the tofu.

Add the cleaned and chopped kale and shredded carrots (I grate mine with the box grater) to the pan with the tofu.  Saute them together for 2 minutes or so, then add the rice.  Stir fry everything together for 3-4 minutes, add the curry (or peanut) sauce and golden mountain (or soy) sauce.  Continue cooking until everything is heated through and some of the rice grains get a nice crisp to them.

In a separate, small pan, scramble two eggs and throw the eggs in with the cooked rice in the large pan. Top with sesame seeds (I use black and white) and sriracha before serving.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment