jump to navigation

Michigan Pasta (Orzo Salad with Blue Cheese, Cherries, and Almonds) March 4, 2012

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in uncategorized.
trackback

Image

Most of the time, I cook meals that both Ryan and I will eat and enjoy.  Sometimes, though, I come across recipes or want to try new things that I just know he won’t enjoy, and I use my weekend days when he’s working or weeknights when he’s at practice to make those meals.  This is one of them. Ryan isn’t crazy about fruit all up in his savory meals, so I knew this would be one I’d be eating alone. It’s so good though!  And it’s a perfect salad to make and pack up for a few lunches.  I’m already excited to eat it tomorrow at work. 

Ingredients 

1 cup orzo, uncooked
2 cups baby spinach, chopped
1/3 cup dried cherries (or cranberries)
1/4 cup chopped almonds
1/4 cup blue cheese or gorgonzola
1/4 cup balsamic vinaigrette
salt + pepper to taste

Method

Cook orzo according to package directions. Drain and cool completely.

When the orzo is cooled, mix it up in a big bowl with the rest of the ingredients.  This can be served at room temperature or chilled.   

Comments»

1. Alison - March 6, 2012

I hear Ryan on the fruit with savory, but this sounds really good. We’ll have to give it a whirl soon.

Love your blue and white fabric in the background!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

