jump to navigation

Easy (and Healthy??!) Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies April 23, 2012

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in dessert, vegetarian.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have a problem. My sweet tooth is out of control!  I’ve tried going cold-turkey with no sweets, which failed miserably. I’m doing better at cutting back, but I still eat way more than I used to before I had a baby.  I was talking with a friend about this Saturday morning and told her “I really need to get into baking healthy sweets”—if I’m going to continue to chomp on cookies as often as I do, at least I could TRY to make them a little healthier.

An hour after we had this conversation, I passed a roadside booth that said “FREE WINDSHIELD CHIP REPAIR”—but my sugar-crazed mind read it as “FREE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES”—seriously!! I did a double-take.

So, with the goal of creating a tasty but not AS bad for you cookie, I googled around, and found a post on Cookie and Kate for banana chocolate chip cookies. Two of my favorite tastes in one snack!  These came together really quickly and are delicious.  They make a really soft, chewy cookie with a strong banana taste.  With only 2 tablespoons of butter for an entire batch, they are definitely healthier than the cookies I’ve been making.  Try em, you’ll like them!

Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies
(Slightly adapted from Cookie and Kate)

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter, softened
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 ripe banana
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour (can use whole wheat or all-purpose)
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Pre-heat the oven to 350 Farenheit.

Cream together the butter and sugars using a mixer.  Add the egg, and then the banana.  Add the vanilla.  If you are using a stand mixer, keep it running on low as you gently mix in the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. If you are using a hand mixer, mix all of the dry ingredients together and then slowly add them to the wet ingredients, making sure they are thoroughly mixed before moving on to the last step, which is adding the chocolate chips.  Add those chips, and then spoon the dough out in rounded teaspoons onto a baking sheet lined with parchment.  The dough will spread a little as they cook, so try not to put the balls too close together. Bake for 10-11 minutes.  Let them cool on the sheet for a few minutes, and then move them to a wire rack to continue cooling.  Try not to eat all of them immediately!

Comments»

1. Alison Deuhs Allen - May 10, 2012

Totally gonna try this. Whenever we get old bananas me and the kids make Banana bread. I try and make it as healthy as I can, but sometimes we start adding things like chocolate chips and nuts, oops. This will be a great alternative the next time we have ripe bananas.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

