jump to navigation

Kale-Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms April 23, 2012

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in dinner, quick meal, vegetarian.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Kale Stuffed Portobella Mushroom

I bought some big portobello caps at the market on Saturday with the intention of making some sort of Mexican-inspired stuffed mushroom, but when I got home and checked the contents of my fridge, I decided on a different route.

I had a container of cooked brown rice (leftover from making this fried rice the night before) that I thought would go well with kale and a tomato sauce.  So that’s what I did, and it was delicious.  Only I know this, though, because even though I made two stuffed mushrooms, I dropped the one in the picture above on the floor right after taking this picture, and Ryan was nice enough to let me eat the one remaining mushroom and scrounge together something else for himself.  Sorry, Ral!

Kale-Stuffed Portobello Mushroooms

Ingredients:

Two portobello mushroom caps
1 cup cooked brown rice
1/2 bunch of kale, cleaned and chopped
1/4 onion, diced
1/2 cup tomato sauce
salt and pepper
Mozzarella or some Italian blend of cheese for the top

Pre-heat the oven to 375 Farenheit.

Clean your portobello caps.  I scrape the gills out of mine with a spoon.  In a medium-sized pan, saute the onion over medium heat until it is slightly browned.  Add the kale, and continue to cook until the kale is about half the volume it was before.  Add the brown rice, tomato sauce, and season to taste.

Scoop the mixture into the caps, and top with shredded mozzarella or Italian cheese.  Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes or until the cheese is lightly browned.

Here’s the mushroom pre-cheese:

stuffed mushroom

Comments»

1. Kirsten - April 24, 2012

Yum! That looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

