jump to navigation

A CHALLENGE! Can I stay out of grocery stores for a week? April 29, 2010

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in uncategorized.
trackback

I walked in the grocery store yesterday with a specific goal in mind: pick up a small container of non-dairy yogurt, a bottle of mango vodka, and a few limes.  I walked out 40 minutes later with enough food to feed a small army of hungry people.  As I struggled to find room in my cupboards for four boxes of lasagna noodles, several jars of various sauces, and other random finds and realized there was no room (it all went in a bag in the basement), I decided that a challenge might be in order. See if we can go a week (at least) buying absolutely no new food, eating only what we have in the cupboards, fridge, and freezer already.  Not only will this save some money, and make us eat some of the food I’ve hoarded away, but hopefully I’ll be creative and come up with some new recipe ideas in the process.

Let’s be honest, though—this isn’t going to be difficult.  The whole reason this popped into my head is because I was bringing home enough food to eat for an entire month when I really only needed drink materials for a small party the following night.  I’ve always loved grocery shopping.  I end up at a minimum of one grocery store a day, and often/always walk out with more than I went in there for originally.  I’m on a first-name basis with the majority of the staff at three different stores, and don’t even want to think about how much time I spend thinking about food, shopping for food, prepping food, eating food, and cleaning up food every day.  I love searching out new recipes and ingredients to try.  This makes for a very full kitchen, and a hodge podge of odds and ends that can probably be used up in some creative way.  I try to do this sometimes (feta-walnut-pepperocini quesadillas, anyone?) but never stick with it for more than a day before I just have to go buy an ingredient for some new recipe I want to try.

But what about fresh vegetables and fruits?  And I’m sure Ryan is thinking, what about my turkey sandwiches for lunch?  Maybe the best way to start this is to give us a small budget (say, $25) to go to the store or the farmer’s market on Saturday or Sunday and stretch that money as far as we can to get all of the fresh items we will need for the week, and then that’ll be it, and we’ll have to eat what we have until the following Saturday or Sunday.

If I come up with any interesting new combos, I’ll be sure to post it on here….until then, let the pantry-raiding begin!

Comments»

1. Mom Pilchak - April 30, 2010

I cannot wait to see what you come up with. There ARE so many groceries in your cupboards! I smiled all the way through this. The writing is so witty and fun! Can’t wait til next Tuesday to read this blog. Love M

2. margaret - April 30, 2010

i’m so excited you started a blog! it’s about time! 🙂 i’m looking forward to following your meals, and my only regret is that i’m not there to enjoy them!

this is a really great challenge for you, and i think it’ll be a lot of fun, too! it’s funny cuz this guy at work is obsessed with using the word “challenge” at work in that cornell-hospitality-school (there are no problems, just CHALLENGES) kinda way. i mean, it seriously drives me insane, but i should probably take the opportunity to make a drinking game out of it. hehe.

tuesdayswithangela - May 3, 2010

Peggy….that drinking game sounds like a great CHALLENGE!! When we come visit you in New York, we’ll have to have a special edition of “Making Food WITH Friends” at your place.

3. Mom Pilchak - May 4, 2010

I also have never made that quiche the same twice! I love this recipe and actually, a friend gave me the recipe she clipped from the Oakland Press in the 90’s. She made 2 versions for her daughter’s bridal shower. You could possibly make a sauce for the squash. Grandma Shirley made a italian sauce to put over it. She served it like spaghetti! Very good, although your dad made faces! Your blog is awesome! Love M


Leave a Reply

