jump to navigation

Edamame Hummus and Tomato-Goat Cheese Spread May 10, 2010

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in appetizers, vegetarian.
Tags: , ,
trackback

We have a three-year tradition of having our moms and grandmother over for Mother’s Day. I started thinking about what to make for this meal last week. I wanted something tried-and-true; having a dozen plus people over for a nice family meal isn’t the time to try out a new and exotic recipe. But, I thought, I could try out some new things for pre-meal eats. (I made the spinach artichoke feta pie and roasted red pepper rice for the main course.)

When I started this blog, I sent out the link to a few friends at first, just to get their thoughts on it. My friend Sean sent back only one thing to me: a link to this website: What the Fuck Should I Make for Dinner?

Funny enough, I got some great recipes off that site.  The first two recipes it served up to me (“YOUR CRUNCHY GRANOLA ASS SHOULD EAT SOME ….. EDAMAME HUMMUS” and then, tomato goat cheese spread) sounded like perfect appetizers to have alongside the usual cheese and crackers situation.  Both turned out really well.  The edamame hummus is light, citrus-y, and really tasty.  I couldn’t stop eating it.  I left the garlic out of both dips. Usually I love garlic but I just wasn’t feeling it today.  I’m sure it’d be fine with it added in, but both were just as delicious without.  On to the dips!

Edamame Hummus

Ingredients:
2 cups frozen shelled edamame, cooked according to package directions
1 cup silken tofu, drained (light is fine)
1 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste
1 tsp. white pepper, plus more to taste
2 teaspoons ground cumin, plus more for garnish
3 cloves garlic, minced (about 1 Tbs.)
1/4 cup olive oil
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice, plus more to taste

Method:
1. Set 1 tablespoon of the edamame aside for a garnish. Place the rest, along with the tofu, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic, oil and lemon juice, in a food processor and process until very smooth, about 2 minutes. Taste and adjust the seasoning with more salt, pepper, or lemon juice, if desired.
2. Transfer the hummus to a serving bowl and garnish with the reserved edamame and a sprinkle of cumin.

Tomato and Goat Cheese Spread

Ingredients:
1/3 cup dried tomatoes (not oil-packed)
Boiling water
4 ounces soft goat cheese (chevre)
1/2 of an 8-ounce package reduced-fat cream cheese (Neufchatel), softened
1/4 cup snipped fresh basil or 2 teaspoons dried basil, crushed
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon milk

Method:
1. In a small bowl, cover dried tomatoes with boiling water; let stand for 10 minutes. Drain tomatoes, discarding liquid. Finely chop tomatoes.

2. In a medium bowl, stir together chopped tomatoes, goat cheese, cream cheese, basil, garlic, and pepper. Stir in enough of the milk to make mixture of spreading consistency. Cover and chill for at least 2 hours or up to 4 hours.

Comments»

1. Mom Pilchak - May 10, 2010

These dips were so good! I did have to stop myself! The pita crackers served with it were a perfect compliment. The main course was absolutely delish! The whole evening was as always, a good time! Ryan came thru with a new oven mitt for Angela! Such a sweetie he is!
Thanks kids for making our Mother’s Day a special one.


Leave a Reply

