jump to navigation

Slightly Spicy Spaghetti Squash May 21, 2010

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in dinner, lunch, vegan.
trackback

I’ve had a spaghetti squash sitting around the kitchen for a few weeks now, and figured I shouldn’t push my luck on how long I thought it might last. I meant to use it during my no-grocery-shopping week earlier this month, but I never got around to it.  So the spaghetti squash was still sitting around, and I decided to make something of it last night. (Side note: that week was a success. I didn’t enter a grocery store until the following Sunday, and we made all meals except one at home that week. Since we were spending Friday night of that week cleaning the basement–everyone’s idea of fun, right?–I though we deserved a pizza dinner and we ordered in from Strawberry Moon.)

I am not going to get into how to roast a spaghetti squash here.  Many people have posted step-by-step instructions with pictures on the internet, and I don’t really have anything to add that would differ from what I’ve seen out there already.  I will point you to the directions I used:  How to Roast a Spaghetti Squash. I roasted mine at 400 for about 40 minutes, following the directions in that link.

Slightly Spicy Spaghetti Squash

spaghetti squash

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash
For the sauce:
1/2 onion
1 jalapeno
1 can diced tomatoes (or a few big fresh ones)
For the topping:
1/2 chopped red pepper
1 cup chopped broccoli
1 cup chopped kale or spinach
salt and pepper

Method:

Roast the spaghetti squash as described in the link above.  While it is roasting, prepare the sauce and the veggies.  Since the squash takes about 40 minutes to roast, start the sauce and veggies about 15-20 minutes after putting the squash in the oven.

For the sauce: chopped half an onion and one jalapeno.  Saute them in a little olive oil until they are soft and cooked through.  Place them in a blender or food processor along with one can of diced tomatoes or a few fresh chopped ones, and some salt and pepper.  Blend it thoroughly, and return to low heat on the stove.

For the veggies: stir-fry the red pepper and broccoli until the broccoli is bright green and the peppers are tender-crisp.  Add the kale or spinach and cook for another few minutes.  Add salt & pepper/any other spices to taste.  Serve the sauce and veggies over the squash, adding some shredded parmesan if you’d like!

Comments»

1. Mom Pilchak - June 1, 2010

I was a lucky receiver of this amazing dish! I ate some before we went to see Ryan’s acoustic show. Angela also sent some home with me. I could not wait until lunch so I could eat it again. The guys at the shop poked fun at it. Even your dad, but when he ate some he loved it!! I could eat this once a week, it was that good!!


Leave a Reply

