jump to navigation

French Lentil Potato Salad October 19, 2010

Posted by Angela @ Making Food for Friends in salad.
Tags: ,
trackback

I went to yoga tonight.  I went with the expectation of getting some light exercise before heading home to make dinner but must not have read the schedule correctly, because I walked into a room hot as a sauna, heat cranked up plus two glowing red heaters at the front of the room.  I hadn’t eaten before class and it made it extremely tough on two fronts: my blood sugar dropped and I got wobbly and dizzy, plus I couldn’t concentrate because my thoughts kept wandering to all of the food I wanted to gobble up after class.  My mind went something like this:

Heaters?  What the heck?  I didn’t want to have to shower after this. Oh well.  It’s only an hour.  Ok, here we go.  Up, down, sideway, down, up, down, wait, she’s playing Lauryn Hill.  I haven’t heard that album in ages.  Maybe I’ll go home and listen to Lauryn Hill and cook green beans.  Down dog, top of a push up, raise your leg up and make an airplane, put it a little higher and make a standing split, up, down, whoa, starting to black out.  Maybe I need protein.  Maybe I need water.  I don’t know what’s going on.  Put the other leg in the air.  Try not to wobble. Maybe I should get take out.  Take out is a waste of money. Maybe I should eat potatoes.  I have too many peppers.  Are the green beans in the fridge still even good? Sweat is dripping into my ear. So much for not showering.  Down and up and down and up, Kanye West yoga soundtrack is distracting me. I can’t remember what I’m supposed to be doing.  I’m seven moves behind. Is this the longest class ever? When do I eat? What is “flip the dog over”?  I don’t think I can do that.  Maybe I should leave.  I should stick it out.  Never again.  Lentils.  They can cook while I shower.  I think I’ll lay in child’s pose for a while.

French Lentil Potato Salad
(Printable Recipe)

lentil salad

Ingredients:
1/2 cup lentils (I used French green lentils, any lentils except red would be fine)
1 1/4 cup water
Two big handfuls of fresh arugula or baby spinach
2 small to medium potatoes
1/4 green beans
Feta cheese
Salt & pepper
Vinaigrette (see below)

Method:
Start your lentils first.  Add dry lentils and water to a small sauce pan over medium heat.  Cover, and let cook for about 20-25 minutes.  Test after 20-25 minutes to see if they are done.  Add a little more water at this time if you need.  When they are cooked through, remove from heat and keep covered until ready to use.

While the lentils are cooking, wash and slice your potatoes into paper-thin half-moons or small dice.  Heat a little oil in a saute pan, and cook the potatoes until tender and a little crispy.

Cut your green beans into inch-long pieces.  Add to potato pan when the potatoes are close to done. Cover, if possible, and let them steam a little. Salt and pepper the potatoes and green beans

When everything is ready, assemble the salad. Start with a bed of fresh arugula or spinach, top with the lentils, then the potatoes and green beans, and finally the feta.  Sprinkle some cracked black pepper on top. A nice vinaigrette is good with this.

Vinaigrette

1/8 cup olive oil
1/8 cup lemon juice
1 tbsp dijon
1 tbsp chopped parsley
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

Mix thoroughly.

Comments»

1. Kirsten - October 20, 2010

I am laughing out loud. I’d like to join you on your next adventure. 🙂 (The kind without heaters)

2. allison - October 20, 2010

i honestly cannot believe you girl = you are amazing. if i were you i would have make a grilled cheese or ate whatever random thing i could find after that, especially since you hadn’t eaten dinner before the class.. oh no, you just whip up this full healthy meal. the queen of cooking!!!!

3. sadie - October 20, 2010

I love u angela ur cute.

4. angela duncan - November 8, 2010

Haha! Perfect description of the inner yoga monologue. 🙂


Leave a Reply

